BO WANG | 王 博


主页

  • 项目
  • 异质景观
  • 犀利哥回家
  • 中国协奏曲
  • 落地/出生/经过
  • 为未来而制的明信片
  • 简历

    联络

    English


    封面照片:陳本儒

    落地/出生/经过:纽约华埠影像

    电影文集档案馆
    2014年1月24日-26日

    策展人:秦以平、琳·萨赫斯、王博、周昕

     
    简介 | 影展详情 | 关于

    1月24日(週五)晚7:30 | 影片集1:紐約華埠之兩個寒夜

    Voueur Chinatown, by Gordon Matta-Clark
    《華埠偷窺者》, Gordon Matta-Clark

    紐約美國華人博物館的華埠影像計劃委託試驗影人Jem Cohen拍攝的短片《紐約夜景》以觀察的角度描繪了城市景觀的夜色下人與燈光的交錯。與Jem Cohen美妙鏡頭下白描的紐約不同,概念藝術家Gordon Matta-Clark拍攝於70年代的黑白視頻《華埠偷窺者》雖然同以這一景觀為主題,卻採取了一個更為疏離的角度,凝視華埠的社區與人,模棱兩可,恍如夢中。

    《華埠偷窺者》 (1971) 作者: Gordon Matta-Clark | 《紐約夜景》 (2009) 作者: Jem Cohen | 詩歌朗讀《Crazy Melon and Chinese Apple》作者: Frances Chung, 朗讀: 凌安妮

    1月25日(週六)晚6:00 | 影片集2:視線的觸覺


    《觸摸》, Shelly Silver

    從高處鳥瞰的視角,可以同為全知的與疏離的,戲謔的與淘氣的。視頻藝術家Shelly Silver的《觸摸》是一部克制卻又無限撩撥的影像散文,講述了關於失去與存在的詩意。 《觸摸》帶我們進入了一個迷一般的男人的精神世界:作為華埠的兒子,他同時作為局內和局外人回到華埠,這個他在少年時期想盡辦法逃離的地方。 1960年代開始活躍的社會活動家譚閩生博士為華埠社群留下了不可磨滅的遺產。出人意料的是他也拍攝了許多先鋒性的試驗影片,紀錄了這個他致力於保衛的世界。他用閃爍的明暗捕捉了一個屋頂上的男孩在鏡頭前的瞬間,彷彿他想要飛翔,卻也意識到他永遠無法長出翅膀。

    《屋頂上的男孩》 (70年代) 作者: 譚閩生 | 《觸摸》(2013) 作者: Shelly Silver

    1月25日(週六)晚8:00 | 影片集3:華埠問題考


    照片: 李揚國

    如果關於一個地點的概念必然被"他者"和"遷徙"的印象所包裹,我們又如何能確定,什麽是此時此刻此地的"現實"?這一切都緣起"華埠"這個名字,一個在全世界許多的城市都能找到的地方。 《華埠的困境》原是WNBC1970年所拍攝的影片,綜述了華埠的社會和教育問題。 2013年,CNN的"揭露"包厘街81號的"骯髒、危險的火災隱患"引發了觀眾向紐約消防部門舉報,無處可去的住戶被全部撤離。今日租戶們的反應讓人想起譚閩生1969年紀錄華埠抗議獵奇觀光遊的無聲影片《觀光車走開! 》。 Shelly Silver的《關於華埠的5堂課和9個問題》將街區中的種種生活與關於歷史、改變、歸屬感和家的問題交織在一起。影片放映後著名攝影記者李揚國(Corky Lee)將與觀眾交流他在過去四十年活躍於亞太裔社群的經驗。

    WNBC-TV 《華埠的困境》 (1970) 作者: Bill Turque | 《觀光車走開! 》 (1969) 作者: 譚閩生 | 《關於華埠的5堂課和9個問題》 (2011) 作者: Shelly Silver | CNN 關於包厘街81號的報導: "撤離與抗議"(2013) | 李揚國分享華埠社會運動歷史

    1月26日(週日)晚5:00 | 影片集4:包厘街戲單


    《璇宮戲院》: Eric Lin

    這是一張包羅萬象的戲單,挑戰和呈現著​​華埠的日常生活。我們首先從Eric Lin安靜而沉鬱的《璇宮戲院》開始。影片紀錄了包厘街(Bowery Street)上最後一家影院璇宮戲院的倒閉。如果說這種公共觀影體驗消失讓人傷感,那麽與之形成對比的,是黃漢明對於羅曼·波蘭斯基《唐人街》的戲謔式重演,讓人思考原作對於洛杉磯唐人街"法外之地"的想像。從《文件兒子》的自嘲,到《我餓》中大嚼幸運籤的女同性戀,到《被訓練的中國舌頭》中跟隨購物者回家吃飯的試驗,慣常的生活情境不斷地與私人體驗碰擦出火花。兩部與中國春節相關的影片穿插其中——一部為40年代的家庭錄像,另一部為1960年代的遺珠《鼠年》。在華埠出生的攝影記者陳本儒(Alan Chin)將與大家分享他作為一名藝術家與局內人對於社區的敏銳、精確的觀感。

    《華埠新年遊行》 (1940年代) 作者: James Yip Typond | 《璇宮戲院》 (2005) 作者: Eric Lin| 《製造唐人街》 (2012) 作者:黃漢明 | 《我餓》 (1998) 作者: 遊靜 | 《被訓練的中國舌頭》(1994) 作者: Laurie Wen | 《文件兒子》(1997)作者:Byron Yee | 《鼠年》 (1963) 作者: Jon Wing Lum | 陳本儒華埠攝影分享

    1月26日(週日)晚7:30 | 影片集5:方圓二英里的時光


    《中國人的行李箱》: 繆佳欣

    結合現場朗讀和影片,這一組演出考察了華埠方圓兩英里的內部和公共空間。攝影機以積極的姿態,將移民的經驗本地化、視覺化,卻也不失直接性與歷史性。上海出生的行為藝術家繆佳欣帶著他的行李箱在華埠的餐館和Zuccotti公園之間行走,並在大街上把烤鴨掛起噴上彩色。譚閩生用親密的視角,伴隨以閃爍和快進的活潑效果,紀錄了華埠健康遊園會中人們的公共生活。琳·薩赫斯的溷合式紀錄片設在華埠一個需要共享床位的住宿空間。參與表演的移民將他們的日常生活和個人歷史表演出來,普通的動作變成了舞蹈。他們也會面對小小的挑戰:從這個自給自足的封閉世界走出去。當你已經跨越千萬里來到此地,再往前走五英里又會發生甚麽?影片放映還會穿插現場朗讀,朗讀片斷摘自來自不同世代的美籍華裔文學:哈金的小說和Frances Chung的詩歌。

    哈金小說朗讀, 朗讀: 譚海俊 | 《華埠遊園會》 (1970年代) 作者: 譚閩生| 《中國人的行李箱》 (2011) 作者: 繆佳欣 | 《你的白天是我的黑夜》 (2013) 作者:琳·薩赫斯 | Frances Chung詩歌朗讀, 朗讀: Paolo Javior

BO WANG | 王 博


HOME

  • PROJECTS
  • Heteroscapes
  • Brother Sharp Arrives Home
  • China Concerto
  • We Landed/I was Born/Passing by
  • Postcards from the Future
  • A Sip of Mao
  • Spectrum, or the Singapore Dan Flavin
  • Traces of an Invisible City
  • The Wangs
  • Ode to Infrastructure
  • BIO

    CONTACT

    中文


    Photo Courtesy of Alan Chin

    We Landed / I Was Born / Passing by - New York's Chinatown on Screen

    Anthology Film Archives
    Jan 24 - 26, 2014
    Curated by Lesley Yiping Qin, Lynne Sachs, Bo Wang and Xin Zhou

     
    About | Program Details | Press

    Fri, Jan 24 7:30pm | Program 1: Two Cold Nights in New York Chinatown

    Voueur Chinatown, by Gordon Matta-Clark
    Voyeur Chinatown, by Gordon Matta-Clark

    Part of the Chinatown Film Project commissioned by the Museum of Chinese in America, Jem Cohen's NIGHT SCENE IN NEW YORK is a close nocturnal observation of the people and lights of this urban milieu. In contrast to Cohen's beautifully shot yet vernacular street scenes, conceptual artist Gordon Matta-Clark's black-and-white video work expresses a more distant gaze on the Chinatown community, offering an ambivalent and imaginary take on the same cityscape.

    VOYEUR CHINATOWN (1971) Dir. Gordon Matta-Clark | NIGHT SCENE NEW YORK (2009) Dir. Jem Cohen | Annie Ling reading an excerpt from Crazy Melon and Chinese Apple: The Poems of Frances Chung.

    Sat, Jan 25 6:00pm | Program 2: The Touch of an Eye


    Touch, by Shelly Silver

    The view from above – the bird's eye view – can be omniscient and detached, playful and wicked. Shelly Silver's TOUCH, a restrained yet endlessly sensual ciné-essay on loss and presence, takes us on a journey that begins with the psyche of an enigmatic son who returns as both insider and outsider to a Chinatown from which he escaped. Celebrated 1960s community activist Tom Tam also shot irrepressibly inventive experimental films of the world he fought so hard to defend. Tam's pixilated glimpse of a boy on a roof gives voice to a child's sense of flight and the realization that he will never have wings.

    BOY ON CHINATOWN ROOF (1970s) Dir. Tom Tam | TOUCH (2013) Dir. Shelly Silver.

    Sat, Jan 25 8:00pm | Program 3: Chinatown Problematics


    Photo Courtesy of Corky Lee

    How can realities be engaged if the idea of a place has already been mediated by a sense of otherness and displacement? It all began with the name "Chinatown", a specific place that can be found in many cities of the world. THE TROUBLE WITH CHINATOWN, originally aired on WNBC in the 1970s was a survey of social and educational problems. A 2013 CNN "exposé" on the "dirty, dangerous firetrap" at 81 Bowery Street sparked the eviction of the tenants who couldn't afford another place to live. The reactions today can be linked to Tom Tam's silent film TOURIST BUSES, GO HOME! that protests against Chinatown tourism. Shelly Silver's 5 LESSONS AND 9 QUESTIONS ABOUT CHINATOWN interweaves fragments of neighborhood lives with questions of history, change, a sense of belonging and home. Followed by an informal talk by photographer Corky Lee, an activist in the Asian and Pacific American community for the past forty years.

    WNBC-TV THE TROUBLE WITH CHINATOWN (1970) Dir. Bill Turque | TOURIST BUSES, GO HOME! (1969) Dir. Tom Tam | 5 LESSONS & 9 QUESTIONS ABOUT CHINATOWN (2011) Dir. Shelly Silver | CNN report on 81 Bowery St: "Eviction & Protest" (2013) | Photos and artist talk by Corky Lee.

    Sun, Jan 26 5:00pm | Program 4: Bowery Street Playbill


    Music Palace, by Eric Lin

    Quotidian life is provoked and embodied in this eclectic playbill of Chinatown. We begin with a quietly rueful look at the closing-down of MUSIC PALACE, the last Chinatown movie theater on Bowery Street. In contrast is MAKING CHINATOWN, a reenactment parody of Polanski's CHINATOWN and its profiling LA Chinatown as a lawless enclave. From the upfront self-mocking of PAPER SON, to two lesbians munching fortune cookie messages in I AM STARVING, to following grocery shoppers home for dinner in THE TRAINED CHINESE TONGUE, everyday experiences constantly negotiate the personal. Interspersed are two historical documentations of Chinese New Years in the 40s and 60s. Chinatown-born photojournalist Alan Chin will provide his vision of the neighborhood through his candid, sharply rendered insider's eye.

    MUSIC PALACE (2005) Dir. Eric Lin| MAKING CHINATOWN Pt. 7 (2012) by Ming Wong | I AM STARVING (1998) Dir. Yau Ching | THE TRAINED CHINESE TONGUE (1994) Dir. Laurie Wen | YEAR OF THE RAT (1963) Dir. Jon Wing Lum | Photo slideshow by Alan Chin.

    Sun, Jan 26 7:30pm | Program 5: A Time of Two Square Miles


    Chinaman's Suitcase, by Jiaxin Miao

    Mixing live readings and videos, this program investigates domestic and public spaces in the two square miles of Chinatown. Shanghai-born performance artist Jiaxin Miao carries his suitcase between Chinatown and Zuccotti Park and then boldly sprays colors onto roast ducks. Galvanized by flickering and fast forward motions, revered political activist Tom Tam's intimate camera work captures the communal life of a health fair in Columbus Park. Lynne Sachs' hybrid documentary is set in shift-bed rooms in Chinatown where performers transform their everyday movements into dance and are tenderly challenged to leave their shared, self-supporting world. After traveling ten thousand miles to get here, what is it like to go five miles further? Followed by readings of work by novelist Ha Jin and poet Frances Chung, who belong to two different generations of Chinese-American writers.

    Herb Tam reading an excerpt by novelist Ha Jin | CHINATOWN STREET FESTIVAL (1970s) Dir. Tom Tam | CHINAMAN'S SUITCASE (2011) Featuring Jiaxin Miao | YOUR DAY IS MY NIGHT (2013) Dir. Lynne Sachs | Paolo Javier reading a poetry by Frances Chung.